The giant pencil

We get to the monument almost an hour before our ticketed time, figuring we’ll see if they can take us early or we can walk over to the WWII memorial. Hours earlier, the city was a ghost town. The sky was still gray and cool then, the streets and sidewalks near empty. Now the sun is out and kites litter the sky, with swarms of people on the ground below. Groups of young people take selfies, laughing at the impossible angle needed to include everyone (wouldn’t it be easier to ask a stranger “would you mind taking our picture?”), a very young girl steers a bicycle with training wheels through a thick crowd while her parents tag lackadaisically behind. The ding of her bell and, further ahead, the ding of two adults on bicycles, warning “here we come, out of the way tourists.”

Flags at half mast for Scalia, whose funeral is today – possibly happening at this very moment – though not affecting our trip in any way, thankfully. When my husband points out the very small ‘out of order’ sign near the entrance to the monument, I think it’s a mistake. Someone left it up or it’s not the correct entrance. A smiling government employee wearing, oddly, a hat with ear flaps in 60 degree weather, is explaining to a small crowd for probably the 150th time that the tickets they ordered online months ago are no good. The elevator is broken and the part won’t be in until Wednesday at the earliest. How long are you folks in town? He could recommend a million things more interesting than the view from the top of the monument and I wonder how that could possibly be.

monument

I feel like we’ve arrived at Magic Kingdom to find that our favorite ride that we’ve never ridden before is closed. My husband says to our girls that he’s lived on the east coast for 21 years and still hasn’t been up in the monument and I say I’ve lived here 42 years and haven’t either, though this feels more like an admission of guilt than any consolation. We ask the girls if they’d rather go see Jefferson or Lincoln and of course they both pick a different one, but one is a birthday girl and that seems the fairest way to settle it.

The Jefferson Memorial is my favorite because you have to walk along the tidal basin to get there. We pass some kind of diving bird, who disappears so long we’re sure he’s drowned but then pops up again somewhere completely unexpected, far away from the trail of bubbles he left behind. We spot a thin guy in spectacles and a red and white striped shirt, holding a similarly striped knit cap with red pom-pom. I take a picture of him from behind and again from a far distance as he sits on the monument steps, but before he puts his beanie on. I wonder if it’s a game he plays, going to crowded public places and then searching social media later for the tags #whereswaldo and #foundhim.

waldo

  Later we rest our aching bones in a brief cab ride to the White House and see the Monument taunting from the skyline and I think the windows look too small. We would all have been jockeying for a picture, fixated on the view through our phones instead of thinking “I’m inside a giant mother-fucking pencil right now.”

The next day we will see a baby panda napping in a tree, and we will see familiar animals we’ve never seen before, and that will seem like it should be the highlight of our trip. But instead the birthday daughter will say the walk along the tidal basin was her favorite part. The breeze and the way the sun was falling and the peace and calm at the memorial, in spite of all the people and Waldo and the wedding party that showed up to have their pictures taken. Who gets married in mid-February on the east coast expecting a beautiful spring day? May the couple know happiness but also a touch of disappointment and sadness so they appreciate it all that much more.

  

 

9 thoughts on “The giant pencil

Add yours

  1. Sounds like a great trip. I had never thought of someone dressing up as Waldo for the purpose of getting social media hits – interesting and I am certain reasonably plausible idea!

    Like

  2. One time when my kids were young, we took two car loads of family to Sea World. It was a two hour drive. This was way before internet, google, etc. So we got there and it was closed. It was a Monday and they weren’t open.
    We turned around, drove home, and took everyone to Chuck E Cheese. My sister in law said, “If you wanted to go to Chuck E Cheese, why didn’t you say so?” 🙂 It was hilarious. We did finally get to Sea World some months later.
    I love your blog and your writing style. xo

    Like

  3. The D.C. trip is a must, isn’t it? When we went I found the Vietnam Memorial very moving. And the changing of the guard at Arlington Cemetery was almost too much for me. I need to go back again — far too much to see there in only one trip.

    Regarding people taking selfies … it really is kind of amazing to me. It’s like that’s the only way they want to take pictures now. I occasionally offer to take people’s pictures — so that everybody can be in the picture and maybe it will look nice with something in the background. And the younger people who are all about selfies never take me up on it because apparently it’s more important to take the picture yourself, so you can be all scrunched up with the camera at an unnatural angle.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. sweet…

    i cannot believe i have never been to D.C.
    my boy went on a 6th grade trip…me, never.
    ridiculous.
    i’m sorry you couldn’t go up in the giant MF pencil.
    I picture myself at the bottom, happily waiting for whomever i am with to have the experience, just as i did at the empire state building and the eiffel tower and any other tall MF sights…not for me.
    xo

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I absolutely loved the two days I spent in DC walking through the Mall. Your post brought back so many memories – which is what good writing does. The story was yours, but your experiences were relatable to mine.
    A group of us ran the Marine Corp Marathon – for the Leukemia and Lymphoma society. My husband and I had just lost our friend to the blasted disease and I was still so sad. I ran the race (had to ‘beat the bridge’) and despite the beautiful day, all I could think about was “He should be here” and “When will I finally have run far enough to not see the Monument?” That tall giant followed us through the entire 26.2 miles!!
    The next day was spent walking off the lactic acid, touring the memorials and spending some solemn time in Arlington and the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier. It was a sobering trip at the time, but now that I can look back and see what an experience it was–your photo alongside the Potomac reminded me of such.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

