Happy birthday?

 

It took 20 minutes for me to figure out my grandmother was talking about an iPad. “It’s Internet,” she said, lingering on each syllable so that it sounded like In Ter Net, “but for old people.”

Her neighbor told her about something they bought for an elderly relative where “she just pushes a button and sees pictures of her family every day.”

My grandmother had already tried a laptop, but even I had trouble figuring out how to log her into email. We got locked out and my niece got the reset code via a hotmail account she hadn’t used since 2002. Did I mention my grandmother’s wifi is dial-up speed? Or that she still calls me when she gets junk mail she doesn’t understand?

She got along 88 years without an iPad but heard its siren call of Easy Family Connectivity and I thought well maybe Facebook is more her speed. It’s easy to navigate and her family is already on there sharing pictures. I pictured her logging on every evening with a cup of tea, clicking like, unlike, like.

Next time you log onto Facebook, pretend you’re someone who has never used a computer before. What do you dare touch when you’re scared you might “break the machine”? I got her account all set up and tried to explain she could just ignore the People You Might Know section, but her silence reminded me of the time I told her she could reheat a cup of coffee in the still unused microwave that came with her house.

Technology isn’t for everyone. It’s apparently not even for me, because I entered my own date of birth when setting up her facebook account for reasons I’m trying to remember and think it was just because I didn’t want to make her suspicious by telling her the internet needed her birth year and I was too lazy to do the math.

Six months later, my husband and I were watching super old episodes of Super Password in bed, as one is wont to do on their 42nd birthday, when I started getting confused texts from my sister-in-law.

farr

My brother had just gotten off the phone with my grandmother to wish her a happy birthday. Nevermind that he doesn’t remember my birthday after attending 18 years of parties with that delicious cake our other grandmother used to make, nor that he presumably already wished our grandmother a happy birthday months ago. I tend to believe facebook too when it tells me it’s someone’s birthday because when has the internet ever lied?

I’m kind of jealous because I didn’t get a single happy birthday wish on facebook since I removed my birth date a couple of years ago. It felt hypocritical accepting hollow birthday wishes from people I haven’t talked to since 1989 when I rarely did the same.

A half an hour into the phony birthday call, my sister-in-law noticed facebook said my grandmother was turning  42 and thought hmmm. This was around the same time my grandmother told my brother it wasn’t her birthday, but mine. It took the rest of the phone call for him to explain what facebook was since she hasn’t looked at it since the People You Might Know incident.

I’d log in and change her birthdate, but I can’t remember her password. I understand there’s an internet for old people, so I’m holding out for that. I’d been trying to think of what to get my grandmother for Christmas, and finally it clicked: pictures of family, sent monthly because daily is a bit much, delivered right to her mailbox.

 

 

 

 

 

19 thoughts on “Happy birthday?

Add yours

  1. this is great. i so get it, its hard for me to do all the stuff on internet and i’ve been on for years.
    i love he idea of family pictures….
    perfect for grandma.

    and just for fun, while i KNEW i could do it..i only recently started reheating my tea in the microwave.Old habits die hard

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I took my birthday off FB for the same reasons you list. It just feels weird when people send birthday wishes, and then I feel obligated to respond…so I just dumped the whole idea. Now that I’m sober, I spend a lot less time on FB. It’s nice.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Happy Birthday!

    Loved the familiar ring of your post. My brother just got my mother an iPad so she could check her email and Facebook. It’s not going well. I like your idea about pictures sent to her mailbox once a month.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I don’t have my birthday on my Facebook either.. In fact I only ‘lurk’ on my private Facebook page because I share so bloody much of myself everywhere else online I keep all my ‘private’ stuff off line so no photos of my kids or our lives are anywhere. It’s tricky trying to navigate how to use these social networks in a way that works for us. I have my ‘work’ online life and no private online life at all (but the ‘work’ online life is about my private life in many ways so it’s a fine line! But i”m aware of it). Hello and hugs to you my friend! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I understand what you’re saying, and we all need to find our own balance. I’ve always liked how you incorporate family life into your posts…it gives hope and shows how sobriety fits into normal, everyday lives. Xo

      Like

  5. Brilliant, and happy birthday. I’ve vowed to shut down my Facebook page in 2016, I rarely post anything anyway and I just can’t take the political, religious bullshit people feel the need to post anymore. Sorry, ranting. And, yuk, never reheat coffee!
    Sharon

    Liked by 1 person

  6. oh this is too funny. My birthday is off Facebook too, it’s just not that big of thing to me the older I get. And like Robert said above, the longer I’m sober, the less I’m on Facebook. 🙂 I tend to remember sobriety birthdays, but I’m horrible at real birthdays, especially since I’m not on Facebook much anymore. hahaha.
    Anyway, I hope you enjoyed and ate lots of cake and cookies. Love! xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I found a great FB group for women going gray, which a dear friend also joined recently bc she’s thinking of going gray. So I’m torn about FB but my point was that was why I’m on more. It’s easier to step away than it was in early sobriety. (Can’t say the same for cookies!)

      Like

  7. Pictures delivered via the mailbox. A concept from the past. What a great granddaughter! And for what it’s worth, I’m a little scared on FB too. I truly do not know who is getting what and I’m not sure I’m even receiving what I want to receive. My Solution: Less time on FB. ♥

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

