The Bubble Hour

Once, hours before hosting a dinner party, my husband and I decided to change the light fixtures on a ceiling fan we’d scarcely noticed before. Nevermind that the food and hosts still needed work or that this involved a Saturday afternoon trip to Home Depot. Swapping out perfectly good sconces for almost identical ones became the number one priority.

If you notice my theme looks different, you’re not imagining it. (If you didn’t, uh, nevermind?) I came in to put up a short post and changed all the sconces instead. It was an accident at first because I couldn’t figure out how to get the column-thingies at the bottom to appear on the right without changing the theme and this is why I like words like ‘sconce’. They are soothing and they distract and deflect.

I’m going to be on a podcast tonight called The Bubble Hour with fellow sober bloggers I respect and adore. It will air at 9pm eastern standard time, but if you don’t get to listen then and still want to, it will be available afterwards on the site. The series is also available here on itunes.

Sunday, March 2, 2014 – Sobriety Bloggers

The earliest stages of recovery are marked by an inkling that something needs to change, and a budding curiosity emerges to ask such questions as: “What is normal drinking?” “How much is too much?” “Am I an alcoholic?” And “how do I quit drinking?” From behind the safety of our computers screens we pose the uncertainties that trouble our souls, seeking information and all that comes with it: guidance, comfort, direction, and hope. So it is that many stumble upon the frank world of sobriety bloggers: others in recovery who chronicle the ups and downs of their own personal journeys, sharing the experience as both an exercise in healing and in service to others. Join us as we speak to the authors of four popular recovery blogs:Mrs D is Going WithoutBye Bye BeerOne Crafty Mother, and UnPickled.

Show airs at 9pm EST, 8pm Central, 7pm Mountain, 6pm Pacific. HERE.

This opportunity came after a dear friend I’ve come to think of as a kind of angel graciously sent it my way. I know there are countless others better suited to talk about sober blogging, and I’ll try not to screw this up too much. As with any service opportunity, I’m not too worried because it’s been my experience that the words come together if I speak from the heart.

Also, I will be doing this podcast from home in my jammies. I don’t think you’ll be able to tell because this isn’t a Jetsons-style podcast, or at least I don’t think it is. One way to find out, and I hope you’ll tune in to listen or download afterwards.

29 thoughts on “The Bubble Hour

Add yours

  1. Reblogged this on Running On Sober and commented:
    My good friend Kristen from ByeByeBeer will be participating in “The Bubble Hour” podcast (an excellent sobriety resource) TONIGHT, along with fellow bloggers Mrs D, One Crafty Mother, and UnPickled. Swing by Kristen’s post for details and to congratulate her. I couldn’t be prouder for these fine ladies. You can listen in tonight, or download and listen at your convenience; details are in Kristen’s post. -christy

    Like

  2. So happy for you, K, you’re going to do wonderfully.

    And I’m digging the new theme. I use Sorbet over on the daily Words site and I really like it. Your colors looks great!

    Wouldn’t it be cool to have a mask we could slip on like on The Jetsons? I guess, in a way, we do, but our “ego and personality” masks aren’t always visible to others’ eyes.

    xo

    Like

  3. took me a while to find a slot to listen to this but so glad I did! it was fantastic to hear all your voices and listen to you laughing together 🙂 thanks so much for doing the broadcast. finding this sober community has been such an agent for change for me. I know you get that but just wanted to say it anyway. thanks for being part of my solution. we are all saving each others lives EVERY DAY.

    Like

    1. Thank you for listening! I feel it too every day, that connection and the ways we each help each other. It is hard to describe but impossible to deny. Thank you for for your amazing blog and for your friendship.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

