These demons, they come and go

My favorite book from childhood was about a little girl who wakes up one night to the sounds of scratching from underneath her bed. It turns out to be a mischievous demon only she can see. He kicks her out of her own bed, eats all her sugar cookies and slurps all her milk, and gets her in trouble by hanging a turkey from the dining room chandelier. The story was great, but the illustrations were really what got me.

He was so darn cute that I very much wanted my own demon or at least a cat or dog that looked like a demon. In the story, the demon gets attached to an oddly shaped glass bottle, a rubber snake, and those sugar cookies. Eventually the girl comes to love the demon, which is his cue to split, so he climbs into the night sky with all his favorites except for the oddly shaped bottle because it’s too cumbersome to carry.

“These demons, that’s how they are,” soothes the girl’s grandmother. “They come and go, come and go.” The girl is so heartbroken, she cries herself to sleep.

I liked to think the demon might come back to her one day, if only for more milk and cookies. From what I know about demons now, they don’t ever really leave us.

Recently I started to think of myself as a non-drinker. It felt important somehow to identify with others who choose not to drink. There are such fortunates – those who just don’t like the taste or get nauseated or headachey from one glass of wine. There are also startling differences between me and someone who simply prefers a glass of lemonade over a bottomless gin and tonic. I will never be that kind of person.

On Friday I had a rough night. Part of it was pms (sorry guys), part of it was that moon, part of it was just my 4 year-old showing us she has the self-will of her mother and father combined (god help us all). She threw the temper tantrum of all temper tantrums at the mall and then in the car and then in the garage and finally in the foyer, where she also grabbed the cat and sobbed into his damp fur because she felt so rotten and I was so mad I could barely look at her. Mother of the year.

On the very loud, very terrible drive home a single thought had popped in my head. I want a cigarette and a drink and I want to get the fuck out of here. These demons, they come and go, come and go. I wanted to punish my family as much as I wanted to disappear from the pain. This was not my finest moment, but I didn’t drink over it. I did go home and put the child to bed after giving her a hug and telling her I love her. Then I went in my room and had a good cry. It lingered with me the rest of the night, that ugliness.

The next morning I woke up and the ugliness was mostly gone. The day’s fun swept away any remaining gloom and gave me perspective. It was just another temper tantrum. She’ll outgrow them. I could have handled it better. I will next time.

Lately the little things have cut me more deeply than they should. My nerves are too exposed, too raw, and if I keep feeling life like this, I will drink again. I plan to get back to a more regular meeting schedule this fall and share more. I plan to bake apple pies (thanks to dear, sweet RunningOnSober). I plan to do everything under the sun and falling leaves but not drink.

14 thoughts on “These demons, they come and go

Add yours

  1. Regular meeting schedule and contact with others like us, is essential. I’ve gone through the same thing. Funny to me that in the past the little things never bothered me. I would just drink them away. The more I drank the more they went away…..but only temporarily. For me, dealing with all things little or large, has to be done. Get back to what works! The demons are always one missed step away!

    Great post. I needed the reminder. Thank you!

    I found you through RunningOnSober. The more sober contacts I have the better!

    Like

  2. A bits and pieces reply:

    – That demon was really cute, but I knew it was fiction when the demon left but didn’t take the bottle with him (ha ha!)

    – If you still want a demon, I have lots I can spare. I’ll send some to you free of charge. Why do you think I run so many miles? I have all these damn demons and they need lots of exercisin’.

    – Sorry about the temper tantrum. Some days I’m really grateful I just have animals.

    – Thanks for the mention. I still think it’s crazy when someone says I’m sweet. It’s like my demons snicker and say, “we have you all fooled suckas! Booyah!” (sigh, told you they need lots of exercisin’.)

    – I’m glad “that moon” is on the wane. “That moon” seemed to screw with a lot of people’s heads.

    – I’m even gladder (is that a word?) that you didn’t drink.

    – Apple pie. Enough said.

    – xoxo

    Like

  3. I’ve been away… 😉

    Sticking to a good meeting schedule has been a problem recently, holidays, work etc. etc. all excuses I need to just knuckle down and make the meetings. Also concerned I’m sharing same old stuff at times and not progressing. Now either I should, progress and not talk about it, or stop and listen, normally one of those two things help me

    Like

  4. Oh, sister. I hear you. But I will say this, sometimes I come to appreciate those really shitty times, because when I’m on the other side of them (hopefully still sober,) I feel really sober if you know what I mean. Kind of like I just ran a race and got my ass kicked but made it across the finish line nonetheless.

    Hang in there, babe. You got this.

    Like

  5. “I wanted to punish my family as much as I wanted to disappear from the pain. This was not my finest moment, but I didn’t drink over it. I did go home and put the child to bed after giving her a hug and telling her I love her. Then I went in my room and had a good cry.”

    *This* is, truly, the Mother of the Year. 🙂

    Like

  6. I can relate.. but just remember.. those raw, cutting feelings are TRUE life. We drank to numb those feelings, to dull out decisions to be made, and shitty feelings we didn’t want to feel. Sometimes i’m glad to feel these because it makes me aware i’m REALLY feeling!

    (((HUGS)))

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

