The cure

I’m not going to post the name of the miracle cure for alcoholism someone told me about yesterday. I don’t believe it works, but more importantly, I don’t want to encourage that hungry part of my soul always looking for a quick, easy fix.

I googled it yesterday after getting an email from a family member I love dearly but am sadly not close to. Even though our personalities couldn’t be more different, our struggles with alcoholism are eerily similar, proving how genetic and inevitable this disease can be.

His path is different in that he tried recovery meetings “a few years back a couple times” and it did not work for him “for a variety of reasons.” This makes me sad because meetings gave me hope almost instantly. I recognize this as an incredible gift I will not squander.

I want to sit down and talk about this with my family member some time – sharing my experiences in recovery so far (7 months today!) – but I’m afraid to do this right now. He’s very smart and has a way of making me feel like what I see is only part of the picture. He is not someone I can easily appeal to and persuade.

Yesterday he told me about a miracle cure that involves taking a pill before drinking. The pill, which is FDA approved to help curb cravings in an abstinence based program (though still controversial), claims to block alcohol-fueled endorphins, which removes the desire to drink beyond moderate levels, even in heavy drinkers. You can see why this approach would be popular.

As a friend pointed out, though, this method does not bother to define moderate drinking levels. While browsing their forum, I saw one moderator asking a frustrated newcomer if she was blacking out less. Was she having fewer “embarrassing/pathetic incidents”? I know in 12-step programs we’re into progress and not perfection, but isn’t this called denial?

I don’t believe there is a pill that allows alcoholics to drink safely. Maybe one day we’ll have a pill that removes cravings, but then again I found meetings and right now, thank god, that works for me.

Meetings did not work for my family member, so he tried this miracle cure over a year ago and swears the monkey was lifted from his back. Yet when I saw him in November, he drank almost an entire 750ml bottle of vodka in one day. This sounds a lot like alcoholism.

That hollow, hungry part of me still worries I’m missing out on a magical cure which would allow me to have my cake and eat it too. I tell myself I’m just entertaining rational, scientific thoughts, but in my heart I know it’s too good to be true. I wish my family member felt that way too.

6 thoughts on “The cure

Add yours

  1. You have YOUR CURE right now – live with that. Can’t deny that I would have loved that option but in the end I got much more than not drinking via AA and that is something I’m ever grateful for.

    For some people I think the best thing is not to overly talk etc. just walk the walk… one member of my family continued the fight then turned to me and said “How does this thing you do work”… they are now sober some years, in AA, in service and getting well… 🙂

    Like

  2. I too agree with G, there is so much more to AA than the quit drinking. I get to inventory my life, learn to deal with my issues and I have met so many good people at AA.

    Popping a pill would mean that all the dark stuff would still linger within, I’d still would be running away from live and I’d continue drinking. And fool myself into thinking that I now am “normal”, thanks to those pills…

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts in this posts, it had me started thinking too.

    Many Congratulations to 7 months and take care!

    Like

  3. Being the somewhat (although less) judgemental guy I am, I always have to chuckle at the “cure” that involves taking a pill BEFORE YOU TAKE A DRINK lol. Isn’t the point not to drink because as alcoholics, we nearly always have a negative outcome??

    I don’t know… For me, it seems that if we have to go to all this trouble, and thought, and agony, and research to determine if there’s a problem… there’s a problem. My problem has been “solved” since the day I surrendered to the fact I’m an alcoholic and began embracing the AA solution.

    I am so happy to read that you know you’ve found hope in AA. My experience is the same, I found hope on day one at meeting one. AA has helped me get my life back. I’ve been sober in AA for nearly 16 years (Saturday is my 16th AA birthday). It worked for me and I am grateful.

    I am also grateful that it’s working for you. Happy 7 months sober, keep coming back!

    Like

    1. Well a very happy birthday to you!! Sweet sixteen!

      Yeah, I don’t understand the pill “cure” because it assumes alcoholics want to drink without getting drunk.

      AA truly is a wonderful solution. I’m amazed at its effectiveness and grateful for its simplicity every single day.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

